Warning message

There is currently a suspension or adjustment to some of our activities due to COVID-19. For full details please visit our Activities in response to COVID-19 information page.

Membership of the Radiation Health Committee


Established by the Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Act 1998 (the Act), the Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA) is an Australian Government Statutory Agency with the object to protect people and environment from the harmful effects of radiation. In fulfilling the object of the Act, the CEO of ARPANSA is assisted by one Council (the Radiation Health and Advisory Council) and two committees (the Radiation Health Committee and the Nuclear Safety Committee).

Pursuant to Section 23 of the Act, the Radiation Health Committee’s functions include:

  • to advise the CEO and the Council on matters relating to radiation protection;
  • to develop policies and to prepare draft publications for the promotion of uniform national standards of radiation protection;
  • to formulate draft national policies, codes and standards in relation to radiation protection for consideration by the Commonwealth, the States and the Territories;
  • from time to time, to review national policies, codes and standards in relation to radiation protection to ensure that they continue to substantially reflect world best practice;
  • to consult publicly in the development and review of policies, codes and standards in relation to radiation protection.

Membership of the Radiation Health Committee includes radiation control officers nominated by each state and territory; the membership also includes up to two ‘other’ members and a member to represent the interest of the general public, and a member representing the Nuclear Safety Committee. All members are appointed by the CEO of ARPANSA, who is also a member of the Committee.

The RHC typically meets for one to two days, three times a year. Sitting fees, travel and accommodation costs are met by ARPANSA in accordance with the determinations of the Australian Government Remuneration Tribunal. Information on the activities of the RHC can be found at https://www.arpansa.gov.au/about-us/advisory-council-and-committees/radiation-health-committee.

ARPANSA is currently seeking to appoint:

  • two members of the Radiation Health Committee (‘other’ members) for the 2021 -2023 triennium
  • one member representing the interests of the general public for the 2021 – 2023 triennium.

Qualifications and conditions

ARPANSA is seeking to appoint members that possess knowledge, qualifications or experience in one or more of the following areas:

  • radiation protection or radiation health
  • radiation risk management principles and frameworks, and management systems
  • plant, equipment and process safety related to radiation or radioactive materials

Qualified applicants must fulfil the following conditions to be formally appointed to the Committee:

  • obtain relevant security clearance
  • be a permanent resident or citizen of Australia
  • provide 100 points of identification eg: passport and driver’s licence
  • sign a confidentiality agreement
  • give written notice (by filling out a form) to the CEO of all interests, pecuniary or otherwise, that the applicant has or acquires that could conflict with the proper performance of the Member’s functions
  • provide referees who can be contacted by phone

How to Apply

Persons wishing to nominate for the RHC should forward their Curriculum Vitae detailing relevant experience for the role and state which position is being applied for. Nominations should be sent to the following address prior to the closing date Monday, 31 August 2020:


Contact for more information:

Samir Sarkar, Secretariat

+61 2 9541 8341