



## Radiation Health and Safety Advisory Council ('Council')

# **Meeting Minutes**

Date: 2 September 2020

**Time:** 9.00 am – 11.00 pm (AEST)

**Location**: via Microsoft Teams

Chair: Dr Roger Allison

Members: Dr Carl-Magnus Larsson, Dr Hugh Heggie, Mr Keith Baldry, Prof Pam Sykes, Ms Melissa

Holzberger, Prof Adele Green, Dr Peter Karamoskos, A/Prof Melanie Taylor, Dr Jane Canestra,

Dr Trevor Wheatley, Mr Jim Hondros.

Apologies: N/A

Secretariat: Mr James Wheaton.

**Observers:** Mr Jim Scott, A/Prof Ivan Williams, Dr Gillian Hirth, Ms Tone Doyle, Ms Julie Murray.

#### 1. Meeting Open

The Chair welcomed the Council and opened the meeting at 9.00 am. A declaration was made by one Member who noted they previously worked with the Barngarla people on the Olympic Dam project. It was noted that this was a special meeting to discuss a letter from the Barngarla letter.

### 2. Letter from Barngarla

#### Item 2.1 Letter from Barngarla Determination Aboriginal Corporation (BDAC)

The Council discussed a letter received from BDAC, via the Member representing the interests of the general public, that was tabled and previously discussed at Council's 27-28 July 2020 meeting. The letter sought to present BDAC's background concerns and position, for the Council's consideration, around the Australian Government's (Department of Industry, Innovation and Science) process to establish a National Radioactive Waste Management Facility (NRWMF).

The Council agreed to issue a letter of reply to BDAC with the following key messages:

- Note their concerns and position, and that the Council had considered their letter.
- Note the Council's advice to the CEO of ARPANSA dated February 2017, on ARPANSA's role as an independent regulator and radiation health and safety advisor for a NRWMF.

### 3. Meeting Close

The meeting was closed at 10.00 am.