Schedule B – Competent Authorities

Table B1: List of Australian Competent Authorities for the purpose of this Code

Jurisdiction	Contact	Competent Authority
Commonwealth	Chief Executive Officer ARPANSA PO Box 655 Miranda NSW 1490 Email: info@arpansa.gov.au Tel: (02) 9541 8333 Fax: (02) 9541 8314	Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA)
Australian Capital Territory	Director, Environment and Radiation Safety Health Protection Service ACT Health Directorate Locked Bag 5005 Weston Creek ACT 2611 Email: hps@act.gov.au Tel: (02) 5124 9700 Fax: (02) 5124 5554	ACT Radiation Council
New South Wales	Manager Hazardous Materials, Chemicals and Radiation Environment Protection Authority PO Box A290 Sydney South NSW 1232 Email: radiation@epa.nsw.gov.au Tel: (02) 9995 5959 Fax: (02) 9995 6603	Environment Protection Authority
Northern Territory (i) for radioactive ores and concentrates	Chief Inspector – Radioactive Ores and Concentrates (Packaging and Transport) NT Worksafe GPO Box 1722 Darwin NT 0801 Email: ntworksafe@nt.gov.au Tel: 1800 019 115	Work Health Authority
(ii) for all other radioactive substances	Manager Radiation Protection Radiation Protection Section Department of Health GPO Box 40596 Casuarina NT 0811 Email: envirohealth@nt.gov.au Tel: (08) 8922 7152 Fax: (08) 8922 7334	Department of Health

Jurisdiction	Contact	Competent Authority
Queensland	Director, Radiation Health Queensland Health PO Box 2368 Fortitude Valley BC QLD 4006 Email: rh.advice@health.qld.gov.au Tel: (07) 3328 9200	Queensland Health
South Australia	Manager, Radiation Protection Environment Protection Authority GPO Box 2607 Adelaide SA 5001 Email: radiationprotection@epa.sa.gov.au Tel: (08) 8463 7826 Fax: (08) 8124 4671	Minister for Environment & Conservation
Tasmania	Principal Health Physicist, Radiation Protection Unit Department of Health and Human Services GPO Box 125 Hobart TAS 7001 Email: radiation.protection@dhhs.tas.gov.au Tel: (03) 6222 7256 Fax: (03) 6222 7257	Director of Public Health
Victoria	Team Leader, Radiation Safety Department of Health GPO Box 4541 Melbourne VIC 3001 Email: radiation.safety@health.vic.gov.au Tel: 1300 767 469 Fax: 1300 769 274	Secretary, Department of Health
Western Australia	Secretary Radiological Council Locked Bag 2006 PO Nedlands WA 6009 Email: radiation.health@health.wa.gov.au Tel: (08) 9222 2000	Radiological Council

Table B2: Australian Competent Authority for the transport of radioactive material by air or sea

Mode of Transport	Contact	Competent Authority
Air	Director, Aviation Safety Civil Aviation Safety Authority GPO Box 2005 Canberra ACT 2601 Email: dg@casa.gov.au Tel: +61 131 757 or 1300 851 857 Fax: (02) 6217 1300	Civil Aviation Safety Authority
Sea (international and interstate)	Manager, Ship Inspections Maritime Operations Australian Maritime Safety Authority GPO Box 2181 Canberra ACT 2601 Email: MOCBRSHIPMAN@amsa.gov.au Tel: (02) 6279 5048 Fax: (02) 6279 5058	Australian Maritime Safety Authority

Tables B1 and B2 were correct at the time of publication but are subject to change from time to time. For the most up-to-date list, the reader is advised to consult the ARPANSA website (www.arpansa.gov.au).