29 August 2023

ARPANSA is seeking nominations for 9 members of the Nuclear Safety Committee (NSC). The Committee advises the CEO on nuclear safety and the safety of controlled facilities.

Current membership is comprised of experts from experts from fields including nuclear science and engineering, safety management of high hazard industries, environmental science, regulation and law.

All appointments are part-time and nominations are now open for the triennium (2024-2026) in line with the Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Act 1998 (subsection 27(2)) and the Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Regulations 1999 (section 25).

Eight of the roles require knowledge, qualifications or industry experience in one or more of the following areas:

  • safety-related areas relevant to the nuclear sector
  • human and organisation factors in the nuclear sector and other areas
  • plant and process safety in major hazard facilities
  • other industrial or safety-related regulation or a related area.

ARPANSA is also seeking to appoint one member who will actively contribute to the NSC’s functions by representing the interests of the general public.

If you are interested in joining, you are encouraged to learn more about the functions and current membership of the Nuclear Safety Committee.

Find out more about how you can nominate today. And for further information about the roles and expectations for advisory bodies, please read our guidelines.

To nominate, please email the NSC Secretariat your CV detailing relevant experience for the role, the position and committee name by Tuesday, 19 September 2023.

We look forward to announcing the 2024-2026 Committee in due course.

Access to information FOI disclosure log Information public scheme