Go to top of page

National Diagnostic Reference Level Service (NDRLS)

Australian medical imaging providers are required under the ARPANSA Code of Practice (RPS C-5 Section 3.2.15, previously RPS 14 Section 3.1.8) to regularly compare typical patient doses to the national diagnostic reference levels (DRLs).

ARPANSA's NDRLS provides free tools for conducting dose comparisons: login or register for the multi-detector CT survey here or see the relevant imaging modality section for details.


Patient undergoing medical scan tended by male and female doctors
5 June 2018

Find out more information on diagnostic reference levels, how they are derived and how you can calculate your facility reference levels,

Female doctor standng in front of medical scanner
4 June 2018

View the diagnostic reference level tables for multi detector computed tomography, Image guided and interventional procedures (IGIP) and nuclear medicine.

Computed tomography scans of skull
4 June 2018

Find out more about the Australian diagnostic reference levels for multi detector computed tomography for adult and paediatric patients.

Nuclear medicine scan of skull using positron emission tomography
5 June 2018

Find out more about the Australian diagnostic reference levels for nuclear medicine and positron emission tomography procedures.

Fluoroscopy of the skull
5 June 2018

Find out more about ARPANSA's efforts to develop DRLs for IGIP.

Bookshelf displaying reference material
20 June 2017

View publications related to the National Diagnostic Reference Level Service.

6 September 2021

The Nuclear Medicine DRL Survey is collecting data to update the Australian national DRLs for nuclear medicine. Data is being collected for both general nuclear medicine and PET, including data for associated CT scans.