The role of the Nuclear Safety Committee is to advise the CEO and the Council on matters relating to nuclear safety and the safety of controlled facilities, including developing and assessing the effectiveness of standards, codes, practices and procedures.


NSC links

Membership of the NSC

The members of the committee appointed for the 2024–2026 triennium are:


  • Dr Tamie Weaver - Technical Director - Hydrogeology, environmental resources management consultancy


  • Dr Gillian Hirth

Radiation Health Committee representative:

  • Dr Joanna Wriedt - Experience in commercial law, government, and medical research

Local Government representative:

  • Mr Michael Parker - CEO, City of Rockingham

Person to represent the interests of the general public:

  • Dr Peter Karamoskos - Radiologist and nuclear medicine physician.

Other members:

  • Ms Jasmin Diab - Nuclear engineer with experience in the Australian Defence Force
  • Mr Tony Irwin - Engineer with experience in nuclear power and research reactor operations; commissioning; training and regulatory interaction
  • Mr Cameron MacPhail - Engineer with experience of process engineering and safety assurance within the defence, pharmaceutical, nuclear power and water treatment industry
  • Dr Peta Miller - Consultant in safety management, ergonomics and human factors, and an academic at UNSW
  • Mr Stuart Parr - Radiation protection advisor with experience in safety engineering and management (Stuart is also the NSC Representative to the Radiation Health Committee (RHC) including advice on nuclear regulatory compliance internationally
  • Mr Brent Rogers - Radiation Protection Advisor with expertise in nuclear facility safety
  • Mr Peter Wilkinson - Consultant in regulation, safety management and organisational culture in high hazard industries

Access to information FOI disclosure log Information public scheme