About the Australian Synchrotron

The Australian Synchrotron comprises three prescribed radiation facilities including a linear accelerator and booster synchrotron operated by ANSTO in Clayton, VIC. The facility is used for research and development in the areas of advanced materials, biomedical science, defence, agriculture, food technology, environmental science, minerals, nano-technology, oil and gas, pharmaceuticals and scientific instruments.

From 1 January 2013, the Australian Synchrotron will be managed by the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO), under a licence issued by the Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA) on 20 December 2012.

The new management, by a wholly-owned ANSTO subsidiary, follows agreements by the Australian and Victorian State Governments in March 2012, where funding was confirmed for the next four years. This agreement resulted in regulation responsibilities being transferred from the Victorian Government to the Commonwealth.

In assessing the licence application, ARPANSA concluded that the application had taken into account international best practice, that the Australian Synchrotron poses no undue risk to the health and safety of people or the environment, and there are net benefits from its operation.

ARPANSA reviewed the licence in late 2013 and will continue to monitor compliance through ongoing site visits and inspections.

Access to information FOI disclosure log Information public scheme